Garden City University (GCU) is a private deemed-to-be university in Bengaluru, Karnataka. Garden City Education Trust established it in 1992, and Dr. Joseph V.G. founded the institution. GCU is approved by the University Grants Commission and has statutory recognition under Section 3 of the UGC Act.

The university has NAAC Grade A accreditation and was placed in the 151-200 band under the University category in NIRF 2024. Its main campus covers 52 acres on Kolar Highway in Hoskote, while another campus operates on Old Madras Road. More than 80 programmes are offered through 9 schools covering engineering, sciences, management, healthcare, humanities and hospitality.

  • B.Tech / BE: Courses cover Computer Science, Information Technology, Electronics Engineering, VLSI Design and Technology and Robotics.
  • BCA / BBA / BCom: Options include Computer Applications, Business Administration specialisations in Aviation, Business Analytics, Retail and Tourism, and Commerce programmes with CA and IAF specialisations.
  • B.Sc: Students can study Biotechnology, Bioinformatics, Genetics, Forensic Sciences, Data Science, Nanotechnology, Food Science and Technology, Psychology, Fashion and Apparel Design or Visual Communication.
  • BHM / BPT / BA: These programmes cover Hotel Management, Physiotherapy and Arts subjects such as English, Psychology and Journalism.
  • MBA / M.Tech / MCA / M.Sc / MA / MCom: Postgraduate study is available in management, technology, sciences, mass communication and commerce.
  • Ph.D: Research programmes are available in more than 10 disciplines.

GCU is known for its range of professional and science programmes, including Forensic Sciences, Physiotherapy, Hotel Management and Aviation-focused business studies. Total fees are INR 14,75,000 for the 4-year B.Tech CS or IT programme, INR 6,15,000 for MBA, INR 4,30,000 for BBA and INR 4,50,000 for BCA. Annual hostel charges range from INR 60,000 to INR 1,80,000. During the 2023 placement cycle, 108 UG students and 44 PG students secured placements through more than 150 recruiting companies. NIRF data records median packages of INR 3.60 LPA for UG students and INR 6.00 LPA for PG students.

Garden City University Admission Dates 2027

Admissions for the 2026-27 session have concluded. Applications for the 2027-28 cycle are expected to begin between January and February 2027 for MBA and other postgraduate courses. Undergraduate engineering and science applications are expected from March 2027, subject to the KCET 2027 and CUET 2027 schedules.

Event Date
B.Tech and BE applications through KCET, COMEDK UGET or JEE Main March 2027, tentative
BCA, BBA, BCom, B.Sc and BA applications through CUET, GCU entrance or direct merit February 2027, tentative
MBA applications through KMAT, MAT or GCU entrance January 2027, tentative
MCA, M.Tech and M.Sc applications through PGCET, KMAT or GCU entrance February 2027, tentative
BPT, MPT and BHM applications through GCU entrance or merit February 2027, tentative
Ph.D admission through UGC-NET/JRF or the GCU Ph.D entrance examination Annual notification for 2027-28

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

Garden City University Courses and Fees

More than 80 programmes are available in engineering, sciences, management, law, healthcare and hospitality. B.Tech and MBA account for a major share of enrolment, while the allied health and hospitality schools broaden the university's course selection.

Course Duration Eligibility Fee
B.Tech in CS or IT 4 years 10+2 with PCM and 45%; KCET, COMEDK or JEE INR 14,75,000
B.Tech in Electronics 4 years 10+2 with PCM and 45%; KCET or COMEDK INR 8,35,000
BE in VLSI Design 4 years 10+2 with PCM and 45%; KCET or COMEDK INR 9,40,000
BCA 3 years 10+2 with Mathematics; CUET or merit INR 4,50,000
BBA 3 years 10+2 in any stream; CUET or merit INR 2,45,000 to INR 4,30,000
BCom / BCom in CA or IAF 3 years 10+2 with Commerce; CUET or merit INR 2,69,000 to INR 4,72,000
B.Sc science specialisations 3 years 10+2 with the relevant science subjects INR 3,05,000 to INR 5,46,000
BHM 3 years 10+2 in any stream INR 5,48,000
BPT 4.5 years 10+2 with PCB and 45% INR 8,81,000
MBA 2 years Graduation with 50%; KMAT, MAT or GCU entrance INR 6,15,000
MCA / M.Tech 2 years Relevant undergraduate degree with 50%; PGCET or GATE INR 3,53,000 to INR 4,21,000
M.Sc science programmes 2 years B.Sc in the relevant subject with 50% INR 2,55,000 to INR 3,75,000

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

Notable options include B.Sc Forensic Sciences, B.Sc Nanotechnology, B.Sc Bioinformatics, BBA Aviation and M.Sc Forensic Sciences. After completing BPT, graduates can obtain Physiotherapy licensure through the Karnataka Allied and Healthcare Professions Council.

Garden City University Admission Process

Selection at GCU depends on the programme. Engineering applicants enter through exam-based counselling, while many other undergraduate courses use CUET results or the university's merit process. Postgraduate and doctoral programmes have separate entrance and qualification requirements.

  1. Choose a programme and confirm its academic eligibility requirements.
  2. Take the accepted entrance examination when the selected course requires one.
  3. Submit the application through the university portal or complete choice filling through the relevant counselling portal.
  4. Attend the applicable personal interaction, group discussion, interview or document verification stage.
  5. Complete reporting and admission formalities after selection or seat allotment.

B.Tech / BE Admission

Scores from KCET and COMEDK UGET are mainly used for engineering admission through state-level counselling conducted by the Karnataka Examinations Authority.

  • Eligibility: Applicants need 45% aggregate in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics at the 10+2 level. The requirement is 40% for SC and ST applicants.
  • Accepted examinations: KCET, COMEDK UGET and JEE Main.
  • Selection stages: The process covers the KCET or COMEDK rank, choice filling on the KEA portal, seat allotment, document verification and reporting.

BCA / BBA / BCom / B.Sc / BA Admission

Admission to non-engineering undergraduate courses is based on CUET scores or GCU's merit selection. Students apply on the university portal before completing a personal interaction or document verification round.

  • General eligibility: 10+2 in the relevant stream with 45% aggregate.
  • BPT eligibility: 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Biology and 45% aggregate.

MBA Admission

MBA applicants may present KMAT Karnataka, MAT, CMAT or GCU entrance test scores. A bachelor's degree in any subject with at least 50% aggregate is required. Exam-based shortlisting is followed by a group discussion and interview.

PG and Ph.D Admission

GATE scores are considered for M.Tech. PGCET Karnataka or KMAT is used for M.Sc and MCA admission. Ph.D applicants must hold a postgraduate degree with at least 55% marks and qualify through UGC-NET/JRF or GCU's doctoral entrance examination.

Garden City University Cutoff

The engineering cutoff varies by specialisation and is based on the rank reached during the applicable counselling process.

Exam Category Course Group Closing Rank Range
KCET 2026 General B.Tech and BE specialisations 1,19,884 to 2,48,038

Garden City University Placements

For the 2022-23 graduating batch, the placement cell helped 108 UG students and 44 PG students secure campus offers. More than 150 companies participated. According to the NIRF 2024 submission, the median salary was INR 3.60 LPA at the UG level and INR 6.00 LPA at the PG level.

Note: These figures come from the NIRF 2024 submission for the 2022-23 graduating batch and count students who accepted campus offers. Non-engineering students form a substantial part of the batch, and their placement results differ by programme.
Metric 2022-23 Batch, NIRF Data
UG students placed 108
PG students placed 44
Recruiting companies 150-plus
Median UG package INR 3.60 LPA
Median PG package INR 6.00 LPA

Deloitte, EY, PwC, KPMG, Infosys, TCS, Goldman Sachs, ITC and HDFC Bank are among the recruiters that visit GCU. Engineering and management students receive most campus placement opportunities. Physiotherapy graduates generally move into licensed practice, while Hotel Management graduates commonly enter hospitality careers after completing their courses.

Garden City University Rankings

GCU holds NAAC Grade A accreditation. In the NIRF 2024 University ranking, it entered the 151-200 band. The university was not listed in the published NIRF 2025 rankings.

Ranking Body Category Year Rank
NIRF University 2024 151-200 band

Garden City University Campus and Infrastructure

The main Garden City University campus occupies 52 acres along Kolar Highway in Hoskote, Bengaluru. One integrated site accommodates the Schools of Engineering, Sciences, Management, Health Sciences, Journalism, Law, Hospitality, Humanities and Education.

Select postgraduate courses and MBA batches are taught at the Old Madras Road city campus in Bangalore. Its location closer to central Bengaluru supports interaction between management students and industry. Admissions and alumni activities are also supported by a city office in Indiranagar.

Academic facilities include engineering laboratories, a Forensic Sciences laboratory, a Biotechnology research laboratory and clinical facilities for Physiotherapy students. BHM training is supported by a hotel management kitchen and a front-office simulator. Students also have access to a central library with digital resources. Separate accommodation is available for male and female students. Boys' hostel fees range from INR 80,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year, while girls' hostel fees range from INR 60,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year.

Garden City University Scholarships

Students may seek institutional scholarships based on merit or financial need. Eligible applicants can also use central and Karnataka government scholarship schemes.

Scholarship Eligibility Coverage
GCU Merit Scholarship 85% or above in the Class XII board examination Tuition fee waiver of up to 50%
GCU Sports / Cultural Excellence Award National-level achievement in sports or the arts Partial tuition fee waiver
SC/ST Scholarship, Karnataka SC or ST students with family income below INR 2.5 Lakhs Full or partial fee reimbursement under Karnataka rules
Central Sector Scheme of Scholarships, NSP Students in the top 0.1% of Class XII whose parental income is below INR 4.5 Lakhs INR 20,000 per year for professional-course students
PM Vidya Lakshmi Scheme Students applying for education loans through the central portal Interest subsidy on education loans

Karnataka OBC and EBC students can also apply through the state Social Welfare Department. An institutional scholarship application must reach the university within the first month after joining. Applications submitted after this period are not accepted.

Garden City University vs REVA University vs CMR University

Garden City University, REVA University and CMR University are private deemed universities in Bengaluru with comparable course choices and admission routes. The table contrasts their institutional background, accreditation, rankings, fees and academic strengths.

Parameter Garden City University REVA University CMR University
Established 1992 2012 2013
Campus area 52 acres 45 acres Not disclosed
NAAC grade A A A
NIRF 2024, University 151-200 band Not disclosed Not disclosed
B.Tech CS total fee INR 14,75,000 Not disclosed Not disclosed
MBA total fee INR 6,15,000 Not disclosed Not disclosed
Distinct strengths Forensics, BPT, BHM and Aviation BBA Engineering and Commerce Engineering and Law

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

Founded in 1992, Garden City University has a longer institutional history than REVA University, established in 2012, and CMR University, established in 2013. Its Physiotherapy and Hotel Management programmes give it a wider professional-course range. REVA and CMR focus more closely on engineering or commerce and have newer campuses and infrastructure.

Garden City University FAQs

Ques. Which NAAC accreditation and NIRF position does Garden City University hold?

Ans. GCU is accredited with NAAC Grade A. It was also placed in the 151-200 band in the NIRF 2024 University category.

Ques. How much does a B.Tech programme cost at GCU?

Ans. The 4-year B.Tech programme in Computer Science or Information Technology has a total fee of INR 14,75,000. The total charge for B.Tech Electronics Engineering is INR 8,35,000. These amounts apply to the general management quota. Fees for KCET seats may differ under Karnataka government rules.

Ques. Which entrance scores can be used for Garden City University engineering admission?

Ans. Applicants to B.Tech and BE can use KCET, COMEDK UGET or JEE Main scores. For General Category applicants in the KCET 2026 cycle, closing ranks across GCU engineering specialisations ranged from 1,19,884 to 2,48,038.

Ques. What are the MBA fee and eligibility requirements at Garden City University?

Ans. The 2-year MBA costs INR 6,15,000 in total. Applicants need at least 50% marks in a bachelor's degree from any discipline. Admission considers KMAT Karnataka, MAT, CMAT or the GCU entrance test.

Ques. What do GCU's placement figures show?

Ans. In the 2022-23 cycle, 108 UG students and 44 PG students were placed with participation from more than 150 companies. NIRF data reports median salaries of INR 3.60 LPA for UG students and INR 6.00 LPA for PG students. Recruiters included Deloitte, EY, PwC, KPMG, Infosys, TCS, Goldman Sachs and HDFC Bank.

Ques. Are separate hostels available for male and female students at GCU?

Ans. Yes. Separate boys' and girls' hostels are provided on the Hoskote campus. Depending on the room category, boys' accommodation costs INR 80,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year, while girls' accommodation costs INR 60,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year.

Ques. What should engineering applicants know about studying at Garden City University?

Ans. GCU runs B.Tech and BE courses in Computer Science, Information Technology, Electronics, VLSI and Robotics, with admission based on KCET and COMEDK. NIRF 2024 data gives a median UG package of INR 3.60 LPA, and recruiters include major IT employers such as Infosys and TCS. The university is suited to students with mid-range KCET ranks who want to study at a private university in Bengaluru.