Founded in 1985, Symbiosis Institute of Computer Studies and Research (SICSR), Pune, was one of Maharashtra's earliest institutions to provide formal computer education. It is a constituent of Symbiosis International (Deemed University), whose accreditation is NAAC A++ and whose UGC status is Category-I. Its B.C.A. programme holds the national rank of 2 in both the India Today-MDRA and Outlook-ICARE 2026 editions.
Computing and technology management form the institute's academic focus across undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral study. Its largest programme is B.C.A. Honours / Honours with Research, with 180 seats, while the flagship M.B.A. (Information Technology) offers 60 seats and 4 specialisations. The institute operates from a single building at Atur Centre, Model Colony, with 5 computer laboratories and campus Wi-Fi supported by a 600 Mbps connection.
The two-year M.B.A. (IT) academic fee is INR 11.6 Lakhs to INR 12.94 Lakhs, and the four-year B.C.A. Honours fee is INR 10.03 Lakhs. The latest undergraduate placement figures list a highest annual package of INR 23.50 LPA and an average of INR 5.90 LPA. Applications for the M.B.A. (IT) and M.B.A. (Technology Management) 2027 intake are open through SNAP.
Table of Contents
- Upcoming SICSR Admission Dates
- SICSR Programmes and Academic Fees
- Eligibility and Admission Procedure
- SICSR SNAP Cutoff
- SICSR Placement Outcomes
- SICSR National Rankings
- Campus Facilities and Student Life
- Merit Scholarship at SICSR
- B.C.A. Comparison with Christ and Kristu Jayanti
- Frequently Asked Questions about SICSR
Upcoming SICSR Admission Dates
The three MBA programmes use SNAP for admission to the 2027 batch. The forthcoming examination and institute selection milestones are listed below.
SNAP 2026 and MBA Admission Calendar
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| SNAP registration and payment deadline | November 25, 2026 |
| SNAP 01 admit card release | December 7, 2026 |
| SNAP 02 admit card release | December 11, 2026 |
| SNAP 01 computer-based examination | December 13, 2026 |
| SNAP 03 admit card release | December 18, 2026 |
| SNAP 02 computer-based examination | December 19, 2026 |
| SNAP 03 computer-based examination | December 26, 2026 |
| SNAP result announcement | January 12, 2027 |
| SICSR programme registration and payment deadline | January 16, 2027 |
| SICSR shortlist announcement | January 21, 2027 |
| GE and PI slot booking for shortlisted applicants | January 21 to January 28, 2027 |
| Group Exercise and Personal Interaction | February 7 to 9 and February 13 to 14, 2027 |
| First merit list publication | February 24, 2027 |
| Fee payment deadline for the first merit list | March 4, 2027 |
| Programme begins | June 1, 2027 |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
M.Sc. (Computer Applications) Registration
The institute has announced the opening month for the next Non-SNAP registration cycle.
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Non-SNAP registration opens | January 2027 |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
SICSR Programmes and Academic Fees
SICSR describes its portfolio as 4 degree programme families plus a doctoral pathway, covering computing and technology management. M.Sc. (Computer Applications) is a 2-year programme with 30 seats; B.B.A. (IT) Honours / Honours with Research has 120 seats. The Ph.D. route is administered through the Symbiosis Centre for Research and Innovation.
The academic fees below cover the stated programme duration and exclude the refundable institute deposit of INR 20,000. Eligibility entries reproduce the information supplied in the course table.
| Course | Total Academic Fee | Eligibility Listed in the Input |
|---|---|---|
| M.B.A. | INR 11.6 Lakhs to INR 12.94 Lakhs | Graduation with 50% and a valid SNAP score |
| M.Sc. (Computer Applications) | INR 9.69 Lakhs | Graduation with 50% |
| B.C.A. Honours | INR 10.03 Lakhs | 10+2 or an Engineering diploma with 50% |
| B.B.A. (Information Technology) Honours | INR 10.20 Lakhs | 10+2 with 50% |
| Ph.D. (Computer Studies) | INR 3 Lakhs | The supplied table lists 10+2 or an Engineering diploma with 50% for this course. |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
The B.C.A. fee information also quotes an annual academic fee of INR 2,45,000 for 2026-27 and a fee of INR 7.35 Lakhs for the 3-year exit option, alongside the stated INR 10.03 Lakhs four-year total.
Eligibility and Admission Procedure
Selection is based on merit for every SICSR programme. Admission through a management route or capitation payment is unavailable. The entrance and assessment requirements differ between MBA, M.Sc. and undergraduate programmes.
MBA Selection
M.B.A. (IT) and M.B.A. (Technology Management), the two flagship postgraduate offerings described in the admission information, follow a shared SNAP selection calendar. SNAP is also the accepted entrance examination for M.B.A. (Digital Transformation).
- Applicants must hold a degree from a recognised university with at least 50% marks; the requirement is 45% for SC and ST applicants.
- A valid SNAP score and separately paid SICSR programme registration are required.
- Final selection assigns 50% to SNAP, 10% to Group Exercise and 40% to Personal Interaction.
- Complete SNAP portal registration.
- Register for the SICSR programme and pay its separate registration fee.
- Take SNAP and qualify for the institute shortlist.
- Reserve a Group Exercise and Personal Interaction slot.
- Participate in the online GE-PI assessment.
- Pay the admission fees after selection through the merit list.
M.Sc. (Computer Applications) Selection
M.Sc. (CA) is the only SICSR programme described as having no written entrance examination. Applicants apply directly through the institute website's Non-SNAP route.
- A degree from a recognised university or Institution of National Importance with 50% marks is required, reduced to 45% for SC and ST applicants.
- Applicants complete the online Group Exercise and Personal Interaction; admission follows the resulting merit list.
B.C.A. and B.B.A. (IT) Selection
These undergraduate programmes use the university-level Symbiosis Entrance Test (SET) and together represent 300 of SICSR's 450 sanctioned seats.
- B.C.A.: Standard XII or a government-approved Engineering or Technology diploma with 50% marks.
- B.B.A. (IT): Standard XII from a recognised Board with 50% marks.
- Both programmes accept 45% for SC and ST candidates.
- Applicants take SET, attend online Personal Interaction after shortlisting and are selected through a merit list.
Intake and Reservation
| Programme | Sanctioned Seats |
|---|---|
| B.C.A. | 180 |
| B.B.A. (IT) | 120 |
| M.B.A. (IT) | 60 |
| M.B.A. (Technology Management) | 30 |
| M.B.A. (Digital Transformation) | 30 |
| M.Sc. (CA) | 30 |
| Total | 450 |
For the undergraduate programmes and M.B.A. (IT), reservation within the sanctioned intake is 15% SC, 7.5% ST, 3% PwD and 5% Defence. Beyond the sanctioned intake, 25% is reserved for international students and 2 seats for Kashmiri migrants. The international allocation contributes overseas students to the undergraduate cohorts.
SICSR SNAP Cutoff
Historical M.B.A. (IT) shortlisting levels are lower than those of the flagship Symbiosis business schools. Personal Interaction accounts for 40% of selection, allowing applicants with moderate SNAP scores to secure admission through their overall assessment.
| Programme | Category | Historical Shortlisting Band |
|---|---|---|
| M.B.A. (IT) | General | Low-to-mid 80 percentile band in previous cycles |
SICSR Placement Outcomes
The institute's placement cell manages recruitment internally, with 50+ companies participating annually. The latest placement figures and the separate Batch 2025 course results are presented individually to retain their reporting context.
| Latest Placement Measure | Reported Figure |
|---|---|
| Highest package, also identified as the UG highest annual compensation | INR 23.50 LPA |
| Average package, also quoted with the latest UG figures | INR 5.90 LPA |
| Participating recruiters | 50+ |
| Recruiting organisations | Accenture, Deloitte, EY, PwC, Persistent Systems, Veritas, Morgan Stanley and others |
Course Results in the Official Batch 2025 Report
| Programme or Group | Average Package | Highest Package Stated |
|---|---|---|
| M.B.A. (IT) | INR 5.98 LPA | Not stated |
| Undergraduate programmes | INR 4.48 LPA | INR 23.05 LPA |
| M.B.A. (Digital Transformation) | INR 5.85 LPA | Not stated |
| M.Sc. (CA) | INR 4.66 LPA | Not stated |
The latest average is additionally written as INR 5.9 Lakhs in the supplied FAQ.
SICSR National Rankings
Both India Today-MDRA and Outlook-ICARE place SICSR's B.C.A. at rank 2 nationally in 2026. The retained ranking entries below show the latest results and the previous year's figures where supplied.
| Category | Ranking Organisation | 2026 Rank | 2025 Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| BCA | India Today | 2 | 2 |
| BCA | Outlook | 2 | NA |
| MBA | India Today | 16 | 106 |
| MBA | Outlook | 15 | NA |
| BBA | India Today | NA | 15 |
| BBA | TOI | 29 | NA |
The supplied overview describes undergraduate computing as ranking better than management and places management outside the top 25. That statement conflicts with the table's MBA ranks of 16 and 15; both source entries are retained here with their original context.
NIRF does not rank SICSR independently. Its parent, Symbiosis International (Deemed University), received the following NIRF 2025 ranks: 24 in University, 11 in Management and 7 in Law.
Campus Facilities and Student Life
SICSR occupies a single building at Atur Centre, Gokhale Cross Road, Model Colony, Pune 411016. Teaching facilities comprise 12 classrooms, 5 computer laboratories and 2 audio-visual halls. Students and faculty use 102 N-Computing devices, and the campus-wide Wi-Fi connection runs on a 600 Mbps backbone.
The city-centre site has compact, functional infrastructure with limited space for an expansive green campus. Model Colony is a prime Pune neighbourhood, placing students minutes from central Pune and the city's IT corridor.
Operating since 1985, the library held 19,714 books in July 2026, together with 11 national and 13 international journals. KOHA manages its catalogue, which can be accessed online from any location. Reading-hall hours are 8 am to 8 pm, Monday through Saturday.
Optional Hostel Accommodation
Students may choose accommodation at the Model Colony campus. The campus information gives a hostel fee range of INR 1.19 Lakhs to INR 1.23 Lakhs and a refundable deposit of INR 20,000. The FAQ separately lists the following annual three-sharing charges.
| Charge | Annual Fee Listed in the FAQ |
|---|---|
| UG three-sharing hostel | INR 1,35,500 |
| PG three-sharing hostel | INR 1,23,200 |
| Mess | INR 1,19,600 |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
Hostel and mess charges may increase by up to 15% each year, so first-year charges alone do not account for possible later increases.
Activities and Sports
Institute committees organise technical and cultural activities, while alumni lead the Hurukuro lecture series. Sports participation takes place between institutes rather than through intramural competitions. At the BITS Open Sports Meet 2024, SICSR was the top-performing institute in swimming, with 2 first-year students winning multiple gold medals.
Merit Scholarship at SICSR
The university's Merit Scholarship provides an academic fee concession to the first 4 semester toppers in each batch. The stated concessions range from 20% to 5%.
B.C.A. Comparison with Christ and Kristu Jayanti
B.C.A., SICSR's largest programme, provides the basis for this comparison. In the India Today-MDRA 2026 B.C.A. rankings, Christ University, Bangalore, and Kristu Jayanti University, Bangalore, occupy the positions immediately above and below SICSR.
| Comparison | SICSR Pune | Christ University, Bangalore | Kristu Jayanti University, Bangalore |
|---|---|---|---|
| India Today-MDRA B.C.A. rank, 2026 | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Location | Pune | Bengaluru | Bengaluru |
| Programme length | 4 years Honours, with a 3-year exit | 3 years | 3 years |
| Total B.C.A. fee | INR 10.03 Lakhs for 4 years | INR 5.90 Lakhs for 3 years | INR 3.75 Lakhs for 3 years |
| Selection method | SET score and online Personal Interaction | University entrance test, skill assessment, micro presentation and interview | Class 12 merit and interview, with no entrance test |
| Sanctioned B.C.A. seats | 180 | Not published | Not published |
| Parent institution | Symbiosis International (Deemed University) | Christ (Deemed to be University) | Kristu Jayanti (Deemed to be University) |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
Christ's higher headline rank and more rigorous multi-stage selection produce a tighter cohort. Kristu Jayanti has the lowest stated fee, described in the source as roughly one-third of SICSR's, and follows open merit-based entry. SICSR offers four-year Honours and Honours with Research routes, a faculty and curriculum focused entirely on IT, and a 4-decade alumni base in the IT industry. Its 180-seat B.C.A. intake and compact campus can mean less individual attention than a smaller cohort receives.
Frequently Asked Questions about SICSR
Ques. What features support SICSR Pune's standing for B.C.A. study?
Ans. India Today-MDRA and Outlook-ICARE both place its B.C.A. at national rank 2 in 2026. The programme has 180 seats and uses a 4-year Honours format, with an exit available after 3 years.
Ques. How are SICSR's full B.C.A. and three-year exit fees stated?
Ans. The supplied fee information quotes INR 10.03 Lakhs for the complete 4-year B.C.A. Honours programme and an annual 2026-27 rate of INR 2,45,000. It lists INR 7.35 Lakhs for students exiting after 3 years. Admission also requires a refundable institute deposit of INR 20,000.
Ques. What test and subsequent assessments are required for SICSR's MBA programmes?
Ans. M.B.A. (IT), M.B.A. (Technology Management) and M.B.A. (Digital Transformation) accept SNAP alone. Applicants must pay a separate SICSR programme registration fee in addition to SNAP registration. Shortlisting is followed by Group Exercise and Personal Interaction.
Ques. Which SICSR admission pathways do not require a SNAP score?
Ans. There are 2 routes: M.Sc. (Computer Applications) uses a Non-SNAP application and selects through Group Exercise and Personal Interaction without a written test; B.C.A. and B.B.A. (IT) require SET instead.
Ques. What average salaries are listed for SICSR's different student groups?
Ans. The official Batch 2025 report gives averages of INR 5.98 LPA for M.B.A. (IT), INR 4.48 LPA for undergraduates, INR 5.85 LPA for M.B.A. (Digital Transformation) and INR 4.66 LPA for M.Sc. (CA). Its highest undergraduate offer was INR 23.05 LPA.
The latest available average is separately quoted as INR 5.9 Lakhs.
Ques. Where can SICSR students stay, and what annual hostel charges are quoted?
Ans. Optional accommodation is available at Model Colony. Annual three-sharing hostel charges are stated as INR 1,35,500 for UG students and INR 1,23,200 for PG students, with an additional annual mess charge of INR 1,19,600. Hostel and mess fees may each increase by up to 15% annually.
Ques. Is SICSR assessed independently in the NIRF University rankings?
Ans. SICSR has no separate NIRF rank because it is a constituent institute. Symbiosis International (Deemed University), its parent institution, held rank 24 in the NIRF University category in 2025.
Ques. How is SICSR's sanctioned intake distributed across programmes?
Ans. The total is 450 seats: B.C.A. has 180, B.B.A. (IT) has 120, and M.B.A. (IT) has 60. M.B.A. (Technology Management), M.B.A. (Digital Transformation) and M.Sc. (CA) each have 30 seats.
Ques. What distinguishes SICSR's B.C.A. option from Christ University's?
Ans. In the India Today-MDRA 2026 B.C.A. list, Christ ranks 1 and SICSR ranks 2, a narrow difference. Christ's stated fee is lower at INR 5.90 Lakhs for 3 years, compared with SICSR's INR 10.03 Lakhs for 4 years. SICSR provides the four-year Honours with Research pathway and a curriculum devoted entirely to IT.
![Symbiosis Institute of Computer Studies and Research - [SICSR]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/logos/1506604442download.jpg?tr=h-94,w-94,c-force)








![Symbiosis Centre for Information Technology - [SCIT]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/logos/1520422201logoedt1.png?tr=h-40,w-40,c-force)
![Symbiosis International University - [SIU]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/logos/1394448331Symbiosis International University (SIU).png?tr=h-40,w-40,c-force)




![Symbiosis Centre for Information Technology - [SCIT]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/1647500426bredcrumb.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![Symbiosis International University - [SIU]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/16481101265.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)

![ASM's College of Commerce, Science & Information Technology - [CSIT]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/1606392887Cover.png?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![Brihan Maharashtra College of Commerce - [BMCC]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/1649955452CampusFrontViewofBrihanMaharashtraCollegeofCommercePuneCampusView.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![MIT College of Management - [MITCOM] Kothrud](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/_p2app12.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)

![DY Patil International University - [DYPIU]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/1548912238coverimage.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![Ajeenkya DY Patil University - [ADYPU]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/_1450244841phpnYZQJm.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Institute of Management and Entrepreneurship Development - [IMED]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/16474194281580965988phpmbPZpV.png?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![Institute of Business Studies and Research - [IBSAR]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/15018524541479294865INS.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
![National Institute of Management - [NIM]](https://static.zollege.in/public/college_data/images/appImage/14453_NIM_New.jpg?tr=h-100,w-200,c-force)
