IIT Kharagpur has extended the IIT JAM 2027 application deadline to October 22, 2026. The Joint Admission Test for Masters (JAM) is used for admission to postgraduate science and related programmes at 23 IITs. Students who have not completed the JOAPS form, document upload and fee payment can use the extended window on the official JAM portal.

The extension changes the earlier October 19 closing date. The official schedule shows October 22 as the revised registration closing date, but it does not state a closing hour on the notice page. Treat October 22 as the final date and submit well before the portal closes rather than waiting for a late-night attempt.

What changed in IIT JAM 2027 registration?

IIT Kharagpur, the organising institute for JAM 2027, has moved the registration closing date from October 19 to October 22, 2026. The change applies to the online application process. A candidate still has to complete the form, upload the required documents, pay the application fee and submit the application through JOAPS.

JAM 2027 is a route to 89 postgraduate programmes across 23 IITs for the 2027-28 academic year. The official JAM website also lists IISc and participating IITs on its programme and admission information pages. Qualifying the test does not itself create an IIT seat; the admitting institute's programme requirements and the later admission process still apply.

IIT JAM 2027 dates

Event Date What it means
Registration opened September 11, 2026 JOAPS applications became available
Revised registration closing date October 22, 2026 Last date shown on the official schedule
Application correction window November 10, 2026 (tentative) Paid corrections are expected to open
JAM 2027 examination February 14, 2027 Computer-based test in two sessions
Result March 18, 2027 Result date shown on the JAM home page

The official notice labels the November correction date as tentative. Candidates should use the live JAM website for any later change rather than assuming that a correction window will fix an incomplete application.

Who can apply for JAM 2027?

Candidates who have completed an undergraduate degree or are appearing in the final examination of their qualifying degree in 2027 can appear for JAM 2027. For admission, the undergraduate programme must be completed before the admission date set by the respective admitting institute. Proof of the qualifying degree and the required subjects must also be submitted within that institute's timeline.

This creates two separate checks. Being allowed to sit for JAM does not confirm eligibility for every M.Sc., joint or integrated programme. Each programme can specify the accepted JAM paper, the undergraduate subjects studied and other minimum educational qualifications. Check those programme conditions before selecting a paper or paying for a second paper.

Test papers and application fee

JAM 2027 has seven test papers: Biotechnology (BT), Chemistry (CY), Economics (EN), Geology (GG), Mathematics (MA), Mathematical Statistics (MS) and Physics (PH). A candidate can choose one paper or two papers only when the two papers are scheduled in different sessions.

Candidate category One test paper Two test papers
Female candidates, SC, ST and PwD INR 1,000 INR 1,350
All other candidates INR 2,000 INR 2,700

The official fee page says the application fee is non-refundable and non-transferable. A later change to the examination city, test paper, category, gender or date of birth carries INR 300 plus any applicable fee difference. Bank or payment-gateway charges, where applicable, are separate.

JAM 2027 exam sessions and paper combinations

Session Time on February 14, 2027 Test papers
Forenoon 9:30 AM to 12:30 PM Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics
Afternoon 2:30 PM to 5:30 PM Biotechnology, Economics, Mathematical Statistics, Physics

For example, Chemistry and Physics can be selected together because they are in different sessions. Two papers held in the same session cannot be selected together. The paper combination should also match the requirements of the postgraduate programme the student plans to target.

Documents to keep ready

The official document page asks candidates to keep the following items ready for the application:

  • Class 10 or SSC marksheet or certificate.
  • Recent colour passport-size photograph with a white or very light background.
  • Signature scanned in JPEG or JPG format.
  • Valid OBC-NCL, EWS, SC or ST certificate, where applicable.
  • PwD certificate and UDID card or number, where applicable.

The photograph should be 3.5 cm by 4.5 cm, between 240 by 320 and 480 by 640 pixels, and between 50 KB and 200 KB. The signature should be a horizontal black or dark-blue-ink signature in a 2 cm by 7 cm box, between 80 by 280 and 160 by 560 pixels, and between 50 KB and 150 KB. The official instructions warn that a poor photograph can lead to rejection without a fee refund.

OBC-NCL and EWS certificates must follow the prescribed format and be issued on or after April 1, 2026. Category certificates must come from an authorised signatory. PwD candidates who seek compensatory time or a scribe should also review the separate forms linked on the JAM document page.

How to complete the JOAPS application

  1. Open the official JAM 2027 schedule and notice page and use its Application Portal link.
  2. Register with an active email address and mobile number, then retain the enrolment details sent by JOAPS.
  3. Enter personal, qualifying-degree and paper-choice details, and select the examination-city preferences.
  4. Upload the photograph, signature and applicable certificates in the prescribed format and size.
  5. Review the form, pay the category-based fee online and return to JOAPS after the payment gateway response.
  6. Submit the completed application and save the confirmation page and payment record.

A payment debit alone is not the same as a submitted application. The official fee page says candidates should verify the application in JOAPS and download the submitted form with payment details. If a payment is deducted but the portal does not receive confirmation, the JAM instructions say the amount is automatically credited back to the same account, although the refund can take one week or more after the application process closes.

What to do next

  • Check the programme-wise minimum educational qualification before choosing your JAM paper.
  • Resize the photograph and signature to the official dimensions and file limits.
  • Finish payment and submit the JOAPS form before October 22; do not rely on an unstated late-night closing time.
  • Download the confirmation page and keep the payment reference after submission.
  • Recheck the JAM website for the tentative November 10 correction window and later admission notices.

IIT JAM 2027 registration FAQs

What is the last date to apply for IIT JAM 2027?

IIT Kharagpur's revised schedule lists October 22, 2026 as the registration closing date. The official notice does not state a closing hour.

Does the extension change the IIT JAM exam date?

No. The JAM 2027 computer-based examination remains scheduled for February 14, 2027, with forenoon and afternoon sessions.

Does qualifying JAM guarantee admission to an IIT?

No. Admission depends on the programme's accepted paper, undergraduate subject and degree requirements, rank, preferences and available seats.

Can two JAM papers be selected in the same session?

No. The official schedule allows two papers only when they are held in different sessions.