Odisha University of Technology and Research (OUTR) is a public unitary technical university run by the Government of Odisha. It began in 1981 as the College of Engineering and Technology, Bhubaneswar (CETB), and became a university in 2021 through a State Government Act. OUTR is recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC), has NAAC Grade "A" accreditation, and selected programmes are accredited by the National Board of Accreditation (NBA).

In NIRF 2025, OUTR was placed in the 201 to 300 band under the Overall category. The university is known for engineering, architecture, planning, science, management, computer applications, and research programmes offered through 18 departments.

The university is located on a 100-acre campus at Techno Campus, Ghatikia, Bhubaneswar, Odisha. It also provides residential facilities for male and female students.

  • OUTR runs technical and science courses across 18 departments:
    • B.Tech in CSE, Computer Engineering, IT, AI and Machine Learning, Civil, Mechanical, Mechanical (Robotics), Electrical, ECE, Electronics and Instrumentation, Aerospace, Textile, Metallurgical and Materials, and Biotechnology
    • B.Arch and B.Planning of 5 years each
    • Integrated B.Sc + M.Sc of 5 years in Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics, and Mathematics and Computing
    • MBA of 2 years and MCA of 2 years
    • M.Tech in 17 specialisations, including CSE, ECE, Structural Engineering, Thermal Engineering, VLSI, and Textile Engineering
    • PhD in Engineering, Sciences, and Technology disciplines

B.Tech annual fees at OUTR vary from INR 51,220 for standard branches to INR 93,720 for CSE, IT, and AI/ML. The full 4-year B.Tech fee is INR 2.05 to 3.75 Lakhs.

Students can apply for Odisha government scholarships such as Medhabruti, Prerna, and the TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver) scheme, subject to eligibility.

During the 2024-25 placement season, OUTR received participation from 130 companies. The highest offer was INR 24.3 LPA, while the overall average package was INR 7.5 LPA.

Admission Update: OUTR admissions for the 2026-27 academic session are over. The 2027-28 admission cycle, based on OJEE counselling, is expected to start in early 2027, with OJEE expected around April to May 2027.

OUTR Courses and Fees

OUTR offers 44 programmes in B.Tech, B.Arch, B.Planning, Integrated B.Sc+M.Sc, MBA, MCA, M.Tech, M.Plan, and PhD. The table gives the annual fee published for the 2026-27 session, along with the total fee calculated for the full course length.

CourseFee
B.Tech (CSE, IT, AI/ML, Biotechnology), 4 years, 10+2 PCM with 45%; JEE Main/OJEEAnnual Fee: INR 93,720; Total Fees: INR 3.75 Lakhs
B.Tech (Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, ECE, Aerospace, Textile, Metallurgical), 4 years, 10+2 PCM with 45%; JEE Main/OJEEAnnual Fee: INR 51,220; Total Fees: INR 2.05 Lakhs
B.Arch, 5 years, 10+2 with 50%; NATA/JEE Main Paper 2Annual Fee: INR 51,220; Total Fees: INR 2.56 Lakhs
Integrated B.Sc + M.Sc (Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics, Maths and Computing), 5 years, 10+2 with 45%; OJEEAnnual Fee: INR 51,220; Total Fees: INR 2.56 Lakhs
MBA, 2 years, Graduation with 50%; OJEE MBAAnnual Fee: INR 93,720; Total Fees: INR 1.87 Lakhs
MCA, 2 years, Graduation with 50%; OJEE MCAAnnual Fee: INR 51,220; Total Fees: INR 1.02 Lakhs
M.Tech (CSE, IT, Industrial Engineering), 2 years, B.Tech with 55%; GATE/OJEEAnnual Fee: INR 93,720; Total Fees: INR 1.87 Lakhs
M.Tech (other specialisations), 2 years, B.Tech with 55%; GATE/OJEEAnnual Fee: INR 51,220; Total Fees: INR 1.02 Lakhs
PhD, 3 to 5 years, PG degree with 55%Annual Fee: INR 55,000; Total Fees: As per duration

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

OUTR has government-rate fees. CSE and IT have a higher annual fee of INR 93,720, while traditional engineering branches have an annual fee of INR 51,220.

OUTR Admission Process

OUTR B.Tech admission is handled through OJEE (Odisha Joint Entrance Examination), which is conducted by the Odisha government examination authority. For Odisha Home State candidates who appeared in JEE Main, the JEE Main score is also used for OJEE rank preparation.

ProgrammeEntrance ExamBasis
B.TechOJEE through JEE Main score and OJEE directOJEE rank; state merit list
B.ArchNATA, JEE Main Paper 2Merit-based counselling
MBAOJEE MBAOJEE rank
MCAOJEE MCAOJEE rank
M.TechGATE score; OJEE for non-GATE candidatesGATE score or OJEE rank

B.Tech Admission

For B.Tech, students must have passed 10+2 in the Science stream with PCM and at least 45% aggregate marks for the General Category. The admission steps are:

  • Take OJEE or use the JEE Main score for OJEE rank generation
  • Register for centralised OJEE counselling
  • Enter branch and institute choices online
  • Receive seat allotment based on OJEE rank, category, and branch availability
  • Visit the allotted institute for document verification
  • Pay the admission fee to secure the seat

For General Category Home State candidates, B.Tech CSE at OUTR usually closes in the JEE Main rank band of 2 to 5 lakh. Branches such as Civil and Mechanical generally close at higher OJEE ranks.

B.Arch Admission

B.Arch applicants need 10+2 with Mathematics and a valid NATA score or JEE Main Paper 2 score. Seats are offered through merit-based OJEE counselling for Architecture.

MBA and MCA Admission

MBA admission is through OJEE MBA, and MCA admission is through OJEE MCA. MBA applicants need graduation with at least 50% marks. MCA applicants must have studied Mathematics at degree level or 10+2 level. Seat allotment is done through centralised OJEE counselling.

M.Tech Admission

M.Tech applicants need a relevant B.Tech or BE degree with at least 55% marks. Students with a valid GATE score get preference, and GATE scholars also receive a stipend under the AICTE-sponsored scheme. Students without GATE may apply through the OJEE M.Tech entrance.

OUTR Placements

The OUTR Training and Placement Cell works from the Techno Campus. In the 2024-25 placement season, 130 companies visited the university and made 657 job offers to 497 students. The highest package was INR 24.3 LPA, the average package was INR 7.5 LPA, and the median package was INR 6 LPA.

Placement Metric2024-252023-24
Highest PackageINR 24.3 LPAINR 25 LPA
Average PackageINR 7.5 LPAINR 8 LPA
Companies Visited130Not disclosed
Offers Made657Not disclosed

In 2024-25, the CSE department received 68 offers for 50 students, and its highest package was INR 24.3 LPA. The IT department got 70 offers and recorded a branch average of INR 6.73 LPA. Recruiters included TCS, Infosys, Wipro, Accenture, Adani, Aditya Birla Group, Amazon, Analog Devices, and Bosch.

OUTR Rankings

OUTR is listed in the 201 to 300 band in the Overall category of NIRF 2025. It also has NAAC Grade "A" accreditation. NBA accreditation is available for selected B.Tech programmes, including Civil, Electrical, Electronics and Instrumentation, and Mechanical Engineering.

Ranking / Accreditation BodyCategoryStatus (2025)
NIRFOverall201 to 300 band
NAACUniversity AccreditationGrade "A"
NBAUG Programme AccreditationCivil, Electrical, EI, Mechanical

OUTR takes part in NIRF every year and has remained in the 201 to 300 band. In 2022, the Odisha government made an INR 200 crore infrastructure upgrade investment, meant to improve campus facilities and research infrastructure for future ranking cycles.

OUTR Scholarships

OUTR students can apply for Odisha government scholarship schemes and university-level financial support. Selection depends on academic merit, income rules, and category-based eligibility.

ScholarshipEligibilityBenefit
Medhabruti (Odisha Govt.)Odisha domicile; merit-based state schemeAnnual scholarship as per scheme norms
Prerna Scholarship (Odisha Govt.)Below poverty line and merit criteriaAnnual scholarship as per scheme norms
TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver)Annual family income below prescribed threshold50% tuition fee waiver
Post-Matric Scholarship (SC/ST)SC/ST category; income below INR 2.5 Lakhs per annumFull tuition fee and maintenance as per scheme
OUTR Merit ScholarshipTop 20% of class; merit-basedINR 400 per month

M.Tech students admitted as GATE scholars receive a monthly stipend of INR 12,400 through the AICTE scheme. This may be available along with any category-based fee concession for which the student is eligible.

OUTR Campus and Infrastructure

OUTR has a 100-acre campus at Techno Campus, Ghatikia, in western Bhubaneswar. The campus lies in the Bhubaneswar technology and industrial corridor and is close to the Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) zone, which helps with industry-academia links for placements.

The university has separate Boys’ and Girls’ Hostels, each with an annual fee of INR 31,660. Facilities include a central library, research and computer labs, a sports complex, a gymnasium, an auditorium, and 24/7 Wi-Fi across the campus. Before the 2021 university upgrade, OUTR had an annual UG intake capacity of 1,400 students, and the intake has grown since then.

In 2022, the Odisha government allocated INR 200 crore for campus renovation and infrastructure development. The aim was to bring the university closer to National Institutes of Technology in academic infrastructure and research output.

OUTR vs VSSUT Burla vs Centurion University

Students who shortlist OUTR often compare it with VSSUT Burla and Centurion University of Technology and Management. OUTR and VSSUT Burla are public state technical universities in Odisha, while Centurion University is a private deemed university with Odisha roots.

ParameterOUTR, BhubaneswarVSSUT, BurlaCenturion University
TypePublic state technical universityPublic state technical universityPrivate deemed university
LocationBhubaneswar, OdishaBurla (Sambalpur), OdishaVizianagaram / Bhubaneswar
Established1981 (university 2021)1956 (university 2009)2010
NAACGrade "A"Grade "A"Grade "A"
NIRF 2025201 to 300 (Overall)201 to 300 (Engineering)Not in NIRF Overall top 300
B.Tech FeesINR 2.05 to 3.75 Lakhs (total)INR 2 to 3.5 Lakhs (total)INR 4 to 7 Lakhs (total)
Placement Highest (2024-25)INR 24.3 LPASelf-reported data availableSelf-reported data available

OUTR has the advantage of being located in Bhubaneswar and being placed in the NIRF 201 to 300 Overall band. VSSUT Burla has a longer history and is strong in core engineering streams. Centurion University has higher fees and a wider course range, including vocational and skill-based programmes.

OUTR FAQs

Ques. What does OUTR stand for, and what is its history?

Ans. OUTR means Odisha University of Technology and Research. It started in 1981 as the College of Engineering and Technology, Bhubaneswar (CETB), and the Government of Odisha upgraded it to university status in 2021.

Ques. Where does OUTR stand in NIRF 2025?

Ans. OUTR is placed in the 201 to 300 band in the Overall category of NIRF 2025. The university also has NAAC Grade "A" accreditation, while its Civil, Electrical, Electronics and Instrumentation, and Mechanical Engineering programmes have NBA accreditation.

Ques. What is the B.Tech fee structure at OUTR?

Ans. For CSE, IT, AI/ML, and Biotechnology, the annual B.Tech fee is INR 93,720, and the 4-year total is INR 3.75 Lakhs. For branches such as Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, and ECE, the annual fee is INR 51,220, with a 4-year total of INR 2.05 Lakhs.

Ques. Which exam is used for OUTR B.Tech admission?

Ans. OUTR B.Tech seats are allotted through OJEE counselling. For Odisha Home State candidates, JEE Main scores are used to prepare the OJEE rank. Students must register for OJEE counselling and complete the centralised seat allotment process.

Ques. What was the average package at OUTR in 2024-25?

Ans. OUTR recorded an average package of INR 7.5 LPA in the 2024-25 placement season. The median package was INR 6 LPA, and the highest offer was INR 24.3 LPA. The IT branch average was INR 6.73 LPA, with 130 companies visiting the campus and 657 offers made overall.

Ques. Are hostel rooms available at OUTR?

Ans. Yes, OUTR has on-campus hostel facilities for boys and girls. The annual hostel fee is INR 31,660. The hostels are part of the 100-acre Techno Campus at Ghatikia, Bhubaneswar.

Ques. Which scholarships can OUTR students get?

Ans. OUTR students may apply for Odisha government schemes such as Medhabruti, Prerna, and TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver). SC/ST students are covered under the Post-Matric Scholarship. Students in the top 20% of their class can receive INR 400 per month from the university, and GATE-qualified M.Tech students get a monthly stipend of INR 12,400.

Ques. Is OUTR a strong option for engineering in Odisha?

Ans. OUTR is a government technical university with an NIRF 2025 Overall rank band of 201 to 300, NAAC Grade "A" accreditation, and an average package of INR 7.5 LPA. Its Bhubaneswar location connects students to the city’s IT sector, and its engineering fees are among the lower options in Odisha.