Karpagam College of Engineering (KCE) began operating in 2000 in Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu. This private, self-financing engineering college has autonomous status, affiliation with Anna University, Chennai, and approval from the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Its National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) accreditation is A+.

Engineering, technology and management programmes serve 4,500 students at KCE. Coimbatore provides an industrial and educational setting for the college. In NIRF Engineering 2025, KCE held the 201-300 band across India and stood 16th among Tamil Nadu engineering colleges.

  • BE covers 8 branches: Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Computer Technology, Cyber Security, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. VLSI Design and Technology is offered as well.
  • B.Tech has 5 specialisations: Artificial Intelligence, AI and Data Science, Computer Science and Design, Computer Science and Technology, and Information Technology.
  • At postgraduate level, students can choose ME in Communication Systems, Mechatronics or VLSI Design, along with a 2-year MBA or a 2-year MCA.
  • PhD study is available in Electrical Communication Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Information Technology, and Mechanical Engineering.

For most BE and B.Tech branches, the four-year Government merit quota fee through TNEA is INR 5,68,000. The two-year MBA costs INR 3,73,500 under the General quota, while annual hostel accommodation for boys and girls costs INR 66,000. During 2024-25, campus recruitment placed 1,084 of 1,240 eligible graduates; the highest offer was INR 43 LPA and the median was INR 5.80 LPA. LPA means lakh rupees per year.

For direct admission applications, visit the KCE official website. Government quota BE and B.Tech applications go through the TNEA portal.

KCE Important Admission and Exam Dates

The 2027-28 admission cycle is expected to start with TNEA registration in May 2027. This timing is tentative. For ME applicants using GATE, the upcoming events below follow the official GATE 2027 schedule.

EventDate
GATE 2027 application correction windowOctober 14 to 21, 2026
GATE 2027 exam city notificationJanuary 4, 2027
GATE 2027 examinationsFebruary 6, 7, 13, 14, 20 and 21, 2027
GATE 2027 result announcementMarch 19, 2027
TNEA 2027 registration opening for BE/B.Tech admission in 2027-28, expectedMay 2027

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

KCE Programmes, Eligibility and Fees

Students can choose from more than 25 programmes in engineering, technology, management and computer applications. Most four-year BE and B.Tech branches share a Government merit quota total of INR 5,68,000. The two-year postgraduate courses, including MBA, have lower total fees than these four-year degrees. Management quota admissions and special programmes cost more.

CourseDurationEligibilityTotal Fee (Government Quota)
BE: Civil / EEE / ECE / Mechanical4 yearsClass 12 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics (PCM), minimum 45%INR 5,68,000
BE / B.Tech: CSE / CST / AI-DS / IT4 yearsClass 12 PCM, minimum 45%INR 5,68,000
BE: Cyber Security / VLSI Design4 yearsClass 12 PCM, minimum 45%INR 5,68,000
B.Tech: Computer Science and Design4 yearsClass 12 PCM, minimum 45%INR 5,68,000
BE / B.Tech through lateral entry3 yearsDiploma or BSc in a relevant branchINR 3,30,000 to 3,48,000
ME: Communication Systems / Mechatronics / VLSI Design2 yearsRelevant BE/B.Tech degreeINR 1,65,500
MBA2 yearsBachelor's degree in any subject with 50% marksINR 3,73,500
MCA2 yearsBachelor's degree with MathematicsINR 2,67,500
PhDMinimum 3 yearsRelevant ME/M.Tech degreeINR 1,05,500

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

Other BE options include Automobile Engineering, Electronics and Telecom Engineering, and Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering. On-campus hostels accommodate both boys and girls for INR 66,000 a year.

How Admission Works at KCE

Government quota seats in BE and B.Tech are filled through Tamil Nadu Engineering Admissions (TNEA), the centralised merit counselling process run by Tamil Nadu's Directorate of Technical Education (DoTE). Students do not take a separate entrance test for this route. Admission requirements and seat arrangements differ by programme.

ProgrammeAdmission BasisSeat Quota
BE and B.Tech, 4 yearsClass 12 PCM merit through TNEA; no entrance examination65% Government; 35% Management
BE/B.Tech lateral entry, 3 yearsMerit-based selection for Diploma or BSc holdersManagement quota only
ME, 2 yearsValid GATE score or TANCET65% Government; 35% Management
MBA, 2 yearsValid TANCET score65% Government; 35% Management
MCA, 2 yearsValid TANCET score65% Government; 35% Management
PhDUGC NET or Anna University Research Entrance TestCollege quota

Applying for BE and B.Tech

Applicants must pass Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics and secure at least 45% aggregate. Only Class 12 PCM marks determine the TNEA merit rank. Marks from different school boards are normalised, meaning they are adjusted to a common basis for comparison.

  • Create an account at tneaonline.org and obtain the application number.
  • Choose preferred colleges and branches. Identify KCE using TNEA code 2710.
  • Take part in TNEA counselling for the 65% Government quota seats, which are allotted according to merit rank.
  • For the remaining 35% Management quota seats, submit a separate application directly to KCE through kce.ac.in.

Applying for ME, MBA and MCA

Anna University's TANCET score is required for postgraduate admission. ME applicants with a valid GATE score may also qualify for consideration under the Government merit quota. MBA applicants need a bachelor's degree in any discipline with at least 50% marks. For MCA, applicants must hold a bachelor's degree and have studied Mathematics at undergraduate or Class 12 level.

Anna University conducts centralised postgraduate counselling. Students seeking the 35% Management quota seats can apply directly to KCE's admissions office.

KCE Cutoff Trends

Previous admission cycles show different PCM cutoff levels across KCE branches. CSE and ECE generally require higher marks than Civil and Mechanical Engineering.

BranchTypical TNEA Cutoff Based on Previous Cycles
Computer Science and Engineering (CSE)150 to 175 out of 200 PCM marks
Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE)150 to 175 out of 200 PCM marks
Civil EngineeringGenerally below 150 out of 200 PCM marks
Mechanical EngineeringGenerally below 150 out of 200 PCM marks

KCE Recruitment and Salary Figures

Campus recruitment at KCE has recorded yearly increases in the number of students hired and the median salary. In 2024-25, 1,084 students received placements from an eligible group of 1,240, giving a placement rate of 87.4%. Offers reached INR 43 LPA, while the median salary stood at INR 5.80 LPA.

Placement Measure2024-252023-242022-23
Eligible students1,2401,018702
Students hired1,084905630
Share of eligible students placed87.4%88.9%89.7%
Median annual salaryINR 5.80 LPAINR 5.30 LPAINR 4.60 LPA
Highest annual offerINR 43 LPAINR 43 LPANot reported
Visiting companies232210Not reported

Recruiters span information technology, core engineering and consulting. They include Amazon, Cognizant, Dell, IBM, Infosys, Wipro, Accenture, TCS, HCL Technologies, and Ernst and Young. Most campus offers go to CSE, ECE and IT graduates. Manufacturing and construction employers recruit Mechanical and Civil Engineering graduates.

KCE Rankings and Accreditation

NIRF placed KCE in its national Engineering 201-300 band in 2025 and 2024. Among Tamil Nadu engineering colleges, its corresponding positions were 16th and 17th. KCE also holds NAAC accreditation at A+.

Assessing BodyCategory20252024
NIRFEngineering, India201-300 band201-300 band
NIRFEngineering, Tamil Nadu16th17th
NAACAccreditationA+A+

KCE takes part in NIRF's Engineering assessment. Its 201-300 band in 2025 and 2024 compares with the 251-300 band in 2022. This change reflects improvements in research output, placement outcomes and faculty measures over that period.

KCE Campus Facilities and Student Life

Department laboratories, a central library and workshops for Mechanical and Civil Engineering are spread across several campus blocks. KCE is based in Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu's second-largest city and an important centre for engineering and textile industries.

Students have access to sports grounds, an auditorium and spaces for technical and cultural activities. The college hosts a technical symposium every year and organises several inter-college competitions in engineering disciplines. Boys and girls can stay in campus hostels at an annual charge of INR 66,000.

More than 426 teaching and non-teaching staff work at KCE. Industry partnerships support internships and joint research while also contributing to campus recruitment connections. NCC, NSS and departmental clubs operate across the engineering branches.

Comparing KCE, Sri Ramakrishna Engineering College and Kumaraguru College of Technology

Students considering mid-tier private autonomous engineering colleges in Coimbatore often compare KCE with Sri Ramakrishna Engineering College (SREC) and Kumaraguru College of Technology (KCT). Each is a private autonomous institution in Coimbatore affiliated with Anna University.

Comparison FactorKCE CoimbatoreSri Ramakrishna Engineering CollegeKumaraguru College of Technology
Year founded200019941984
NAAC accreditationA+A+A++
NIRF Engineering 2025 position201-300 band101-150 band101-150 band
BE/B.Tech total fee through TNEA quotaINR 5,68,000 for 4 yearsComparable rangeComparable range
Highest placement salaryINR 43 LPAData not consolidatedData not consolidated
Median placement salaryINR 5.80 LPAData not consolidatedData not consolidated
University affiliation and statusAnna University; AutonomousAnna University; AutonomousAnna University; Autonomous

Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm

KCE stands out in this comparison for its documented placement output and consistently published yearly figures. SREC and KCT were established earlier and occupy higher NIRF Engineering bands, factors that tend to draw applicants with slightly higher TNEA scores. Students whose TNEA rank puts KCE within reach can weigh its placement rate of more than 87% and rising median salary when comparing Coimbatore engineering colleges.

Frequently Asked Questions About KCE

Ques. Who owns KCE, and how are its seats divided?

Ans. KCE operates as a privately owned, self-financing autonomous college rather than a government institution. For BE and B.Tech, Tamil Nadu's TNEA merit counselling fills 65% of seats at the government-fixed four-year fee of INR 5,68,000. KCE directly admits students to the other 35% under the Management quota.

Ques. Which number identifies KCE during TNEA choice filling?

Ans. Select college code 2710 to identify Karpagam College of Engineering. Use it when entering college preferences at tneaonline.org.

Ques. Can students enter KCE's BE or B.Tech programmes without JEE Main?

Ans. Yes. JEE Main marks are used for neither TNEA merit seats nor KCE's Management quota seats. TNEA selection depends entirely on Class 12 Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics marks. Applicants must have passed Class 12 with these subjects and at least 45% aggregate.

Ques. How high have KCE placement offers reached, and what was the recent median?

Ans. The maximum recorded offer was INR 43 LPA in 2024-25 and 2023-24. For 2024-25, the median reached INR 5.80 LPA, and 1,084 of the 1,240 eligible graduates secured placements.

Ques. Where did KCE stand in the latest listed NIRF Engineering assessment?

Ans. In 2025, KCE belonged to the national Engineering 201-300 band and placed 16th among engineering colleges in Tamil Nadu. Its earlier NIRF Engineering position was the 251-300 band in 2022.

Ques. What accommodation can students book at KCE, and when should they apply?

Ans. Campus hostels are available to both boys and girls for INR 66,000 per year. Places are limited, so students should apply soon after securing admission.

Ques. What should applicants weigh when choosing between KCE and Kumaraguru College of Technology?

Ans. Both colleges are private autonomous institutions in Coimbatore with Anna University affiliation. KCT has NAAC A++ accreditation and a higher NIRF Engineering band of 101-150, compared with KCE's 201-300 band. Applicants with higher TNEA ranks typically favour KCT. KCE offers an alternative with documented placement rates above 87% and a highest salary of INR 43 LPA.