Indian Institute of Information Technology, Kota (IIIT-K) began operations in 2013 as a public Institute of National Importance in Rajasthan. The Ministry of Education, Government of Rajasthan, and industry partners jointly established it under the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) model. Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur (MNIT Jaipur) currently mentors the institute.
IIIT Kota submits institutional information to the NIRF framework each year under Institute ID IR-O-U-0799, although it does not currently have a published position in the NIRF Engineering ranking. Its academic programmes focus on information technology and electronics.
The Government of Rajasthan allocated 100.37 acres at Ranpur, Kota, for the institute's permanent campus, which is still being developed. Classes and other academic work currently take place at the temporary campus within MNIT Jaipur.
- B.Tech (4 years) is available in three specialisations:
- Computer Science and Engineering (CSE)
- Artificial Intelligence and Data Science (AI and DS)
- Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE)
- M.Tech (2 years) is offered in Artificial Intelligence and Data Science and Semiconductor Technology.
- PhD programmes are available in Computer Science and Engineering and Electronics and Communication Engineering.
General quota students pay a total of INR 12.34 Lakhs for the four-year B.Tech programme, while the corresponding NRI quota fee is INR 35.54 Lakhs. The full two-year M.Tech fee is INR 3.01 Lakhs.
During the 2025 placement season, the institute reported an overall placement rate of 71.34%. The highest salary package reached INR 54 LPA, and the average package was INR 11.13 LPA. Recruiters included Amazon, Nvidia, Microsoft, Samsung R&D, and Infosys.
Admission Update: The admission process for the 2027 batch is expected to start with JEE Main 2027 registration between November and December 2026.
IIIT Kota Admission Dates 2027
Admission to the B.Tech programmes depends on JEE Main performance, followed by JoSAA seat allocation. The tentative schedule for the upcoming admission cycle is given below.
| Event | Date |
| JEE Main 2027 registration expected to open | November to December 2026 |
| JEE Main 2027 Session 1, tentative | January 2027 |
| JEE Main 2027 Session 2, tentative | April 2027 |
| JoSAA 2027 registration and choice filling, tentative | June 2027 |
| JoSAA 2027 Round 1 through final seat allotment, tentative | June to August 2027 |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
Each programme level follows a separate entrance and counselling route.
| Programme | Entrance Exam | Counselling |
| B.Tech in CSE, AI and DS, or ECE | JEE Main | JoSAA |
| M.Tech in AI and DS or Semiconductor Technology | GATE | CCMT or institute-level process |
| PhD in CSE or ECE | GATE, UGC-NET, or institute test | Institute-level process |
IIIT Kota Courses and Fees
IIIT Kota runs 7 programmes at the B.Tech, M.Tech, and PhD levels in information technology and electronics-related fields. All three B.Tech branches carry the same tuition rate under the PPP fee structure.
| Course | Duration | Eligibility | Fee |
| B.Tech in CSE | 4 years | 10+2 with PCM and a valid JEE Main score | INR 12.34 Lakhs |
| B.Tech in AI and Data Science | 4 years | 10+2 with PCM and a valid JEE Main score | INR 12.34 Lakhs |
| B.Tech in ECE | 4 years | 10+2 with PCM and a valid JEE Main score | INR 12.34 Lakhs |
| M.Tech in AI and Data Science | 2 years | B.Tech or B.E. in a relevant discipline with a valid GATE score | INR 3.01 Lakhs |
| M.Tech in Semiconductor Technology | 2 years | B.Tech or B.E. in ECE, EEE, or a related discipline with a valid GATE score | INR 3.01 Lakhs |
| PhD in CSE | 3 to 5 years | M.Tech or M.Sc. in CS or a related field, along with GATE or UGC-NET | INR 59,925 for Year 1 |
| PhD in ECE | 3 to 5 years | M.Tech or M.Sc. in ECE or a related field, along with GATE or UGC-NET | INR 59,925 for Year 1 |
Subject to revision. Kindly check with the official sources to confirm
At the undergraduate level, the AI and Data Science branch covers machine learning, big data, and analytics. The M.Tech course in Semiconductor Technology teaches VLSI design and semiconductor device engineering and is connected to India's national semiconductor mission.
IIIT Kota Admission Process
The selection method changes with the level of study. B.Tech seats are allotted through JoSAA using JEE Main ranks, while M.Tech and PhD applicants follow postgraduate or institute-level selection procedures.
B.Tech Admission
JoSAA manages admission to all three B.Tech branches. IIIT Kota does not provide a management quota, a separate institute entrance test, or direct admission for these programmes.
- Students must pass 10+2 or an equivalent examination with Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics as compulsory subjects.
- Under JoSAA eligibility rules, General and OBC-NCL applicants need at least 75% in Class 12. The minimum is 65% for SC, ST, and PwD applicants.
- Applicants need a valid JEE Main score from Session 1 or Session 2 of the relevant admission year.
The B.Tech admission procedure has six stages:
- Step 1: Register for JEE Main, take the examination, and obtain the result issued by NTA.
- Step 2: Sign up on the JoSAA portal with the JEE Main credentials.
- Step 3: Enter programme and institute preferences through online choice filling.
- Step 4: Check the round-wise allotment, which depends on JEE Main rank, category, and the submitted preference order.
- Step 5: Pay the seat acceptance fee and upload the required documents before the stated deadline.
- Step 6: Report to IIIT Kota for document checks and final admission confirmation.
M.Tech Admission
A valid GATE score is required for the M.Tech programmes in AI and Data Science and Semiconductor Technology. Shortlisting uses the applicant's GATE rank, after which a written test or interview may be conducted when applicable.
- Eligible degrees include B.Tech or B.E. in Computer Science, Electronics, Electrical, IT, or another related discipline.
- Applicants must take the CS or EC GATE paper, depending on their selected specialisation.
- Seat processing takes place through CCMT or an institute-level procedure announced for that year.
PhD Admission
Admission to the CSE and ECE PhD programmes uses a two-step institute selection process. Shortlisted applicants first take a written examination and then attend an interview before a faculty panel.
- Applicants may hold an M.Tech or M.Sc. in a relevant discipline. A B.Tech holder may also apply with a valid GATE or UGC-NET score.
- Students who qualify through GATE or UGC-NET can receive a monthly research fellowship for funded positions.
- IIIT Kota publishes PhD admission notices on its official website every semester.
IIIT Kota Cutoffs
JoSAA closing ranks depend on the number of applicants, their category, and the order in which they enter programme preferences. For the General category under the Gender-Neutral pool, the 2025 closing ranks were as follows.
| Course | Category | 2025 Closing Rank |
| B.Tech CSE | General, Gender-Neutral | 27,400 |
| B.Tech ECE | General, Gender-Neutral | 36,737 |
These closing ranks can change from one admission year to another as the applicant pool and students' preference patterns change.
IIIT Kota Placements
The 2025 placement drive produced a highest package of INR 54 LPA, an overall average package of INR 11.13 LPA, and a placement rate of 71.34% across B.Tech and M.Tech graduates. CSE achieved a 75.07% placement rate with an average package of INR 11.44 LPA. For ECE, the placement rate was 62%, the average package was INR 10.34 LPA, and the top offer reached INR 54 LPA. The M.Tech median package was INR 18 LPA.
Compared with 2024, the 2025 salary figures were lower amid wider hiring conditions in the technology sector. The highest package in 2024 was INR 65 LPA, while the overall average was INR 13.09 LPA.
| Metric | 2025 Season | 2024 Season |
| Highest Package | INR 54 LPA | INR 65 LPA |
| Average Package, Overall | INR 11.13 LPA | INR 13.09 LPA |
| B.Tech CSE Average | INR 11.44 LPA | Not disclosed |
| B.Tech ECE Average | INR 10.34 LPA | Not disclosed |
| Overall Placement Rate | 71.34% | Not disclosed |
Amazon, Nvidia, Microsoft, Flipkart, Samsung R&D, and Highspot were among the recruiters making higher-value offers. Deloitte, Infosys, and other IT service companies recruited in larger numbers. ECE students also received VLSI and semiconductor opportunities, mainly from research and development-focused employers.
IIIT Kota Campus and Infrastructure
The permanent IIIT Kota campus is being developed on 100.37 acres at Ranpur in Kota, Rajasthan. The Government of Rajasthan allocated this land in 2021. Located within the planned Kota-Ranpur education and industrial corridor, the project includes academic blocks, student hostels, faculty housing, a central library, and sports facilities.
Until construction is complete and the Ranpur campus becomes operational, students attend classes at MNIT Jaipur. They can use MNIT Jaipur's central library, computer laboratories, sports complex, health centre, and hostels during this temporary arrangement.
The institute's position between Jaipur and Kota gives students access to internship and industry interaction opportunities in both cities. Kota has an established base in chemicals, fertilisers, and precision engineering, while IT services are expanding along the Jaipur-Kota corridor.
IIIT Kota vs IIIT Vadodara vs IIIT Nagpur
Students receiving a JoSAA offer from IIIT Kota may also consider IIIT Vadodara and IIIT Nagpur. Each institute follows the PPP model under the Ministry of Education, admits B.Tech students through JEE Main and JoSAA, and concentrates on information technology and electronics. Their fees are also broadly comparable.
| Parameter | IIIT Kota | IIIT Vadodara | IIIT Nagpur |
| Established | 2013 | 2013 | 2016 |
| State | Rajasthan | Gujarat | Maharashtra |
| Current Location | MNIT Jaipur in Jaipur, with the permanent Ranpur, Kota campus under development | Vadodara | Nagpur |
| B.Tech Specialisations | CSE, AI and DS, ECE | CSE, IT, ECE | CSE, ECE, AI and ML |
| B.Tech Fee, General Quota for 4 Years | INR 12.34 Lakhs | INR 12 to 14 Lakhs | INR 12 to 14 Lakhs |
| Admission Route | JEE Main through JoSAA | JEE Main through JoSAA | JEE Main through JoSAA |
| 2025 Highest Placement | INR 54 LPA | Refer to institute site | Refer to institute site |
IIIT Kota reported an average package of INR 11.13 LPA for its 2025 placement season. IIIT Vadodara's location in a large Gujarat industrial and corporate centre gives it access to recruiters from manufacturing, chemicals, IT services, and product companies. IIIT Nagpur is still developing its placement network as a newer IIIT, but its location provides access to Nagpur's expanding IT corridor and logistics sector. Students can compare these institutes using location, preferred specialisation, and JoSAA closing rank.
IIIT Kota FAQs
Ques. How much does the complete IIIT Kota B.Tech programme cost?
Ans. The four-year B.Tech fee for General quota students is INR 12.34 Lakhs, including tuition and other charges for all eight semesters. Students admitted through the NRI quota pay INR 35.54 Lakhs for the full course.
Ques. What were the 2025 JEE Main closing ranks for IIIT Kota?
Ans. JoSAA 2025 data shows a closing rank of 27,400 for B.Tech CSE in the General, Gender-Neutral category. B.Tech ECE closed at 36,737 for the same category. These figures may differ each year because the number of applicants and their preference order change.
Ques. From which campus does IIIT Kota currently operate?
Ans. Classes currently take place at the temporary campus within MNIT Jaipur in Jaipur. IIIT Kota's permanent campus is under construction on a 100.37-acre site at Ranpur, Kota, Rajasthan. Until that campus opens, students use MNIT Jaipur's hostels, library, and laboratories.
Ques. How did IIIT Kota perform during the 2025 placement season?
Ans. The highest package in 2025 was INR 54 LPA, while the average across B.Tech and M.Tech graduates reached INR 11.13 LPA. The institute placed 71.34% of students. Amazon, Nvidia, Microsoft, Samsung R&D, and Infosys were among the recruiters.
Ques. Does IIIT Kota hold Institute of National Importance status?
Ans. Yes. IIIT Kota is an Institute of National Importance under the IIIT (PPP) Act. The Ministry of Education, Government of Rajasthan, and industry partners established it in 2013 through the Public-Private Partnership model. MNIT Jaipur serves as its mentor institute.
Ques. What hostel arrangements are available to IIIT Kota students?
Ans. Students can currently stay in hostel facilities at MNIT Jaipur, where IIIT Kota conducts its academic work. Dedicated student hostels are also included in the infrastructure being built at the permanent Ranpur campus.
Ques. Does IIIT Kota have a published NIRF Engineering rank?
Ans. No published position was assigned to IIIT Kota in the NIRF 2025 Engineering ranking. It still participates in NIRF and provides institutional data each year under Institute ID IR-O-U-0799. Its position may change as its research work and number of graduates increase.